About Us

About Us

Our Mission

Our purpose is to inspire, educate, and serve our local youth and communities by providing opportunities to practice a strong work ethic and environmental stewardship.

Who We Serve

The Greater Valley Conservation Corps helps youth, 18 to 25 years old, with academic instruction, employment opportunities, green job training, life skills, and much more!

GVCC serves businesses, schools, special events, non-profits, municipalities, public works departments, and cities throughout San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Calaveras, Amador, and Tuolumne Counties.

What We Do

Empowerment

Empowerment

We were founded on the principle that both individuals and organizations thrive when they are provided with the proper resources and tools. By empowering young adults to learn valuable skills and by empowering organizations to make informed and environmentally responsible decisions, we provide a solid foundation for vibrant communities to grow.

Environmental Stewardship

Environmental Stewardship

As stewards of our environment, we have a fundamental responsibility to manage and care for our natural resources. This is accomplished through strategic initiatives that place the vitality and longevity of our environment as the primary objective.

Community

Community

Strong communities provide a sense of belonging to their members. It’s the concept of unity that we seek to develop in our organization and beyond.

Innovation

Innovation

By constantly exploring new technology and techniques, we remain on the cutting-edge and seek to inspire similar organizations to adapt and adjust their approach to changing issues.

Our History

In 2000, Greater Valley Conservation Corps (GVCC), formally known as the San Joaquin Regional Conservation Corps, became a certified local corps. GVCC is unique to this group because they are the only recognized conservation corps that is operated by a county office of education, the San Joaquin County Office of Education. GVCC currently provides 18 to 25 year olds with education, training, and employment in the fields of recycling and natural resources.

The California Association of Local Conservation Corps (CALCC) was formed in 1993 to enable California’s certified Local Conservation Corps to collaborate and provide a forum to advance the conservation corps movement in California and nationally. CALCC represents 13 statewide certified Local Conservation Corps.

Program Staff

Nicholas Mueller

Coordinator IV

(209) 292-2701
(209) 639-5343
nmueller@sjcoe.net


Steve Kieffer

Project Leader II

(209) 292-2705
(209) 993-9650
nmueller@sjcoe.net


Mike Totten

NATURAL RESOURCE SUPERVISOR

(209) 479-5801
mtotten@sjcoe.net


Ruben Guzman Colin

CREW LEAD II

(209) 715-2394
rcolin@sjcoe.net


Armando Gutierrez Uribe

CREW LEAD II

(209) 662-0576
agutierrezuribe@sjcoe.net


Patrick Thornsburg

CREW LEAD II

(209) 401-5984
pthornsburg@sjcoe.net


Kristina Contreras

Staff Secretary

(209) 292-2700
(209) 662-0331
kcontreras@sjcoe.net


Deb Phillips

RECYCLING SUPERVISOR

(209) 292-2702
(209) 403-9914
dphillips@sjcoe.net


Kristie Rose

ACCOUNT SPECIALIST

(209) 468-9020
krose@sjcoe.net


Sean Guinnane

CREW LEAD I

(209) 401-5984
sguinnane@sjcoe.net


Valencia Quintero

CREW LEAD II

(209) 292-2707
(209) 715-2393
vquintero@sjcoe.net


Would you like to join our newsletter?